My Top 5 Fantasy Travel Destinations

My Top 5 Fantasy Travel Destinations

I don’t know where I got the idea for this, but it isn’t an original idea. So I thought why not make it into a post? It should be obvious from the title, but this is going to be a look at some of the places I wish I could really travel to in the books I’ve read. Specifically fantasy.

So…I gave my fantasy travel agent some basic information and we settled on five destinations.

These are in no particular order, but they’re all places I would go if I could.

Strap in. This is will take a minute to read through.

Alagaesia – The Inheritance Cycle

Mmm…Alagaesia.

The fantasy map of my childhood…

I had to put this fantasy world on the list. Not only are the books it comes from one of my fantasy institutions, but some of it is inspired by my childhood home. I was lucky enough to have grown up in the same state as the author, so when I found out that Montana was an inspiration for much of the world of Alagaesia, especially the Palencar Valley…

BOOM

…skyrocketed this series into I will always have a soft spot for it even if it goes unfinished until the day I die territory.

I mean, this is the real place…

I, unfortunately, grew up in a different part of the state, but it wasn’t too far away. I drove through it once. And it was gorgeous.

But wait…

There’s a few other places I would need to go as well. After spending way too much time in Carvahall just taking in the idyllic beauty, I’d probably head south and pay a visit to the coastal city of Teirm. That seems like it could be a popular tourist destination. It is the biggest one after all. City, I mean.

Then, I’d probably start working my way around in a counterclockwise direction. That puts the Boer Mountains next. I’d have to go and see if the Varden would let me hang with them for a while. Granted I am able to find them. But I’m not about to participate in the Trial of the Long Knives! No, thank you.

If they prove less than hospitable, then I’ll head north again to Du Weldenvarden. See the elves. They’d probably end up seeing me first, but who knows, maybe they’d be willing to open up their home to a huge fanboy?

If you’re familiar with this series, then you’ll probably have noticed that I gave the Hadarac Desert a miss. Only if I was a seasoned veteran would I go there. But I’m not sure why I’d want to anyway. It’s a desert.

Hyrule – The Legend of Zelda (TotK)

This next one is kind of cheating, but even though it comes from a beloved video game series, it’s still a fantasy in my book. And that’s Hyrule from The Legend of Zelda. More specifically, Tears of the Kingdom. I initially considered the Breath of the Wild incarnation, but the expansion of Hyrule in the second game just has so much more to offer. And it’s just as, if not more, beautiful than the first.

Admittedly, I’d have a hard time finding my way around the Bokoblins, Moblins, and other assorted baddies. I can barely handle them as Link 😅, but to immerse myself in that world…I’d almost take the beating without protest. I mean…

These grainy photos don’t really do any justice, and I can’t help but marvel at the sheer beauty of the landscape in this game. Sometimes I end up wandering around just looking around at everything instead of doing anything to advance the story. It has a simplistic beauty that’s hard to explain and equally hard to ignore.

One thing is for sure: I would need a fully stocked inventory that was loaded down with all the essentials. Because I would need to be ready for anything. If there’s one thing I’ve come to terms with, it’s that Hyrule can be a cruel mistress when it comes to her regional climate. And weapons. Good ones that have some power and won’t break too fast.

In this case, I don’t have any specific must-see destinations in mind. I’d just be there to see it all. Camp under the stars (as long as there’s no blood moon). Sample all the different fruits and other foods the land has to offer. Get launched out of a Skyview tower or two so I could visit the sky islands…

…Kismet

Roshar – The Stormlight Archive

I know I said these weren’t in any particular order, and they still aren’t! But if I had a priority destination in mind, it would be Roshar from The Stormlight Archive.

Usually when I read a story, the world is mostly inconsequential. There are worlds I enjoy and others that are just 🫤…meh. But the first time I took a trip to Roshar, the effect was visceral. It is so well realized that it’s hard to believe it’s not real in some alternate universe.

Curse you Sanderson for creating a world this good!

But also, bless you for creating a world this good.

I haven’t read much past Words of Radiance, so I don’t think I’ve seen the whole world yet, but I’ve got some places I want to visit.

Namely the Shattered Plains. I gotta see a chasmfiend. Harvest a gemheart. And if I can make it during a Desolation, a thunderclast.

I’m kind of a storm chaser at heart, so I’d have to take in a highstorm or two. From the safety of a soulcast shelter of course.

After the craziness of the plains, I’d probably need to take it down a notch. So the next destination would be the Purelake. Tropical paradise and a warm, knee deep lake as far as the eye can see.

Navarre (Basgiath War College) – Fourth Wing

Alright, this next one is kind of awkward because I wasn’t a huge fan of the book, but I really would like to exist in the world of Fourth Wing. At least for a minute. The minute things start getting too smutty, I’m out. One of the things I appreciated most about the book was the world. Especially Basgiath War College. I don’t know if I’d survive for long, but I’d give it the ole college.

Maybe I’d do alright in the Scribes Quadrant (especially this one…it’s where all the bookworms end up) or the Healers Quadrant, but I’d be burned to crisp in the Riders Quadrant. I think those dragons would be able to sense my anxiety and toast me to oblivion, leaving nothing but a small pile of ash.

Faerûn – The Forgotten Realms

Last, but certainly not least, is going to be Faerûn. This is the name for the world that many of the Forgotten Realms novels take place in. Especially one of my favorite series, The Legend of Drizzt.

Map of Faerûn | Dungeons & Dragons

If I was to do this vacation right, I would travel the same path as Drizzt do’Urden. One of my all time favorite fantasy characters. Starting from the black depths of the Underdark and emerging to the surface. I’d probably be following his lead until the day I kick it, but to see everything his dark elf eyes saw would be a dream come true. Though I probably wouldn’t get a chance to fight the thousand orcs.

Maybe that’s a good thing. Because I am not this guy…

Leave a comment

I’m David

…and welcome to Yet Another Book Blog. Where the meat and potatoes is all readin’, writin’, and some other random dad S#!T that may crop up from time to time. Mostly in that order.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started